AMF Puffer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Honey-Do

Seaman Apprentice
I am new to sailing and have just aquired an old 12' AMF Puffer. I think I have all the parts, but I don't know exactly how to rig it. Does anyone out there have any pictures, instructions, manuals, etc for this craft that you would share with me, or any links to info about it? Any sailing stories about adventures in a Puffer, or tips on sailing it? It looks like it will be fun to play with. Thanks

gsnyder

Seaman
Re: AMF Puffer

Does a Puffer look anything like a Sunfish? A Sunfish has a mast and attaching sail through a ring on the lower boom. An upper sail boom pulls up the mast through a halyard from the upper boom through an opening at the top of the mast then down to a deck cleat. The main sheet attaches to a "traveller" line above the rudder, then through two blocks along the mast, then down to a sheet block at the front of the cockpit. The centerboard is removable, and fits through the hull of the boat. If this seems like the Puffer, I can give you more info. If not, then you'll have to keep trying. Good Luck.

sloopy

Commander

have you tried the search function in the Internet? I got 12678 results when I did it :confused:

Honey-Do

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks for the comeback. it is not like a Sunfish, it has a Mast, boom, main, & jib. I followed lot's of threads on the net but no solid info.

Reel Appeal

Chief Petty Officer