oil for 1980 70 hp Johnson

superkrusty

Cadet
HI Guys,<br /><br />I have just finished fixing up a boat that has been sitting for 7 years. Had to free up steering (link was seized in tilt tube) and a few other bits and pices.<br />Motor fired straight up surprisingly. I know that oil/petrol mix is 50:1 but should I be checking case oil or gear oil ?? If so could someone let me know where I would check this (sorry I am a boating newbie)<br /><br />Also anyone know the type of spark plug and the gap as I might put in a new set, old ones look a bit ****y.<br /><br />Looking forward to taking boat out this sunday for maiden voyage after all the work. Cant wait !!!<br /><br />Cheers<br />Thanks in advance <br /><br />Brad

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: oil for 1980 70 hp Johnson

Brad.... Spark plugs should be Champion QL77JC4 plugs, gapped at .040 .<br /><br />The oil mixture is indeed 50/1 (1pt of 50/1 oil to 6 gal gas) and a octane rating of 87 will be fine. Use a good quality oil that states the rating of "TCW-III".<br /><br />Yes, check the gearcase oil. There is a large regular slotted screw at the lower portion of the lower unit (the skeg). You will see another identical screw just above the cavitation plate (the plate just above the prop). The top screw is the oil level, the bottom screw being the drain and fill area.<br /><br />Use what is called "HiVis" gearcase oil. This is available at Wal*Mart, K-Mart etc at a reasonable price, and of course at your local dealership but at a higher cost. Fill from the bottom drain/fill hole until the oil flows out of the top oil level hole.

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral