1968 55 hp Johnny - carb question

NES

Cadet
My '68 tr-10r will start and idle fine. It will also go into gear (forward and reverse) fine. When I throttle up it will cough and sputter. I've checked the compression, all 3 cylinders are over 115 and less than 5 apart between them. I have fresh gas, a vented gas tank, a hard primer bulb, and the fuel filter is clean. In adition, I've recently replaced most of the ignition parts and the wiring harness. I'm convinced it is a carburator problem. I am not that good with carburators. I checked my manuals (I have two)and they both give detailed instructions on carburator rebuilds. Is there a way to "clean" the carburators without doing a complete rebuild? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

dolluper

Captain
Re: 1968 55 hp Johnny - carb question

check your plugs after a run they should be tan colour if not the hole you took it out of has a problem.If you find one gray white colour that is a sign of air leak simple test for air leak is to take a propane torch the lighting end unscrew off install an old straight ign boot over the end so it is a tight fit then insert a hose tightly in the boot you now have a tester .with the motor running take the torch open the just a bit and run the hose slowly around gaskets especially where carb mounts ,if the motor idles up you have found the air leak if the plug is wet it means fuel, spark , ign or compression If all fails rebuild the carbs they are very easy especially with a manual have confidence

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral

Welcome to iboats.<br /><br />The carbs are quite simple in design. Go for it! The hardest part is synchronizing them, but it's far from Rocket Science. You can get complete rebuild kits, but all you'll need is bowl gaskets, center nozzle gaskets, mounting gaskets, and float valves. Good luck.

NES

Cadet