Just a general question.

GatorMike

Ensign
I'm not a mechanic but do my own work on my outboard because of necessity. A few friends know that I do an admirable job of keeping my 20 year old clunker running and occationaly ask me to look at theirs. Twice lately and once on my own outboard before I rebuilt it 5 years ago I have come across this problem and wondered what is the most likely cause of it. The other day a friend who was having trouble keeping his 99 Johnson 115 running asked me to look at it. The first thing I did was do a compression check. Then I had to give him the bad news, 115 lbs in 3 cylendars and 85 in the other. I pulled the heads off to show him the damage and of course found the top cylendar scored. What I found interesting is that the cylendar head looked the same as the last two engines I found with a bad cylendar, all beat up. What causes this? Or should I ask what gets in there to beat them up like that.

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner
Re: Just a general question.

It sounds like the rings broke from coking. <br /><br />Are you sure its a 1999? Way more common in a crossflow than a 60 degree looper.

GatorMike

Ensign

It is a crossflow I think, had a bubble exhaust cover anyway. I'm not sure the year, thought he said 99. Anyway it doesn't matter I'm not working on his just found the problem for him and since I have seen this 3 times just wanted to know what causes it. Thanks.

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner