Evinrude 225 cylinder compression test

tornillo

Recruit
1989 Evinrude 225 hp V6<br /><br />I need help on how to do cylinder compression test, the allowable range and max difference between cylinder values.<br /><br />Thanks<br />tornillo

dajohnson53

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Evinrude 225 cylinder compression test

The following are thing's I've snipped from this and other forums to guide me. None of it is my personal opinion - except that as a novice, I followed this general guide and it worked for me.<br /><br />--------------<br />Compression test<br /><br />What you’re looking for is any difference in compression between cylinders to determine if something is wrong with one or more cylinders. Therefore it’s most important to be consistent in the test from cylinder to cylinder regarding warm vs. cold, removing spark plugs, open vs. closed throttle, number of revolutions, etc. etc.<br /><br />You're also looking for changes from season to season, so pick a method and stick with it.<br /><br />Get a compression gauge that screws in to the spark plug hole, not with a rubber stopper type of fitting.<br /><br />Calibrate the gauge per instructions if available.<br /><br />Some recommend a warm engine. Others say it doesn’t matter.<br /><br />Remove all plugs. Others say it doesn’t matter.<br /><br />Disengage the lanyard if you have one. That'll disable ignition and minimize danger of exploding fuel. Use another method of disabling ignition if necessary.<br /><br />RE: open vs. closed throttle, two opinions:<br /><br />“On a 4-cycle motor you need to open the throttle to minimize the vacuum restriction when intake valve opens and the piston "sucks" in the air to compress. On a 2-stroke motor, the exhaust port is open during the bottom travel of the piston and the slow cranking speed allows the cylinder to fill until the exhaust port is covered, and some air comes thru the intake ports. You can check compression with the throttle open or closed and still get the sam