TrimNTilt for 74 85hp

vegard

Petty Officer 2nd Class
As you can see from my other posts, I am repainting a 1974 Johnson 85hp. I would like to upgrade to trim and tilt while its all apart. I want to find a used unit to put on there, fairly cheap... Where do I look?

vegard

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: TrimNTilt for 74 85hp

It seems like the pre-79 OMC units are very hard to find. Is it possible to adapt a unit from another year? how similar are they? Can anyone tell me the difference? I work as a machinist, so I can make any pieces necesary. I assume that I would need the whole transom bracket, then adapt the steering tube to fit my engine... does this sound right? I am unsure of how all this goes together, but I am confident that I could make something work. Any ideas here?<br /><br />Thanks

bubbakat

Captain

Vegard DJ is giving good advice here on those years. I have an 85 h/p 1975 evenrude and kept having trouble out of the original t$t so I ordered a pt 135 right here off iboats and am very pleased with the unit. Its easy to mount and operations is smooth. It sets back about six inches and allows the prop a more solid bite in the water to just another plus in my opinion

vegard

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Yeah, I understand that would be the best option. I do not however want to put that much money into the motor. I also would like a new project to work on. I wonder how similar the different motors are. I can spend alot of effort on this, so I dlike to give it a shot, if it looks feasible.

ledgefinder

Ensign