Johnson 115. Fitch - What is it? Seals, VRO

mannyq

Seaman
I'm still a Newbie owner and appreciate all the information I find in these forums. Thanks for all the suggestions so far. <br /> <br />I've heard nothing positive about Johnson FITCH engines. A friend of mine asked quickly if my Johnson was a FITCH when I told him I bought a boat. I have no idea what FITCH stands for or what it is. Are 2000 J115VLSSS Ocean Pro Fitch or is there something to look for that will tell me? <br /><br />The Surveyor suggested i replace the seals in the lower unit since it appears that there may be a leak. Does a seal kit come complete, all seals and o-rings? Will I need any special tools. While the lower unit is out i guess it's time to replace the pump too (no maintenace records). <br />I do have a Clymer shop manual on order and expect to get it at the end of the month. Since someone may toss this question or comment, my mechanical/electrical skills are excellent and there's nothing a pry bar, sledge hammer or smoke wrench can't fix. :D <br /><br />He also found that the thermostat housing had a small crack on the cap. It's made of plastic. Do they make metal ones?<br />VRO was never setup on the engines, survey said that the pickup hose was plugged at the engine. <br />Should i set VRO up or keep mixing in tank?<br />Besides a tank(s), hose, primer bulb, etc.. What else should I do to setup the VRO besides checking all the required wiring for the alarms? Should I use individual tanks to assure myself that both engines are pumping oil correctly or stick to 1 tank?<br />I'm sure i'll be posting more questions in the future, so thanks in advance for you replies.

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner
Re: Johnson 115. Fitch - What is it? Seals, VRO