Wounded Seahorse

envy83

Seaman
I am a coach for a rowing club and we use a number of small outboards (15-25) for our coaching launches. Johnson seahorses have dominated our selection because they are cheap and seemingly invincible. My friend however found the one quickest way to kill one. He put new oil in the lower unit, lost the plug and then didn't tell anyone :rolleyes: . Long story short, oil went out, water went in, and now I think the lower unit is garbage. I haven't taken a look at it since it started to run bad and he "mentioned" that he might know what the problem was. The motor was still kinda running when we pulled it off... does anyone have any advice for trying to revive it without buying a new lower unit?? :confused:

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner
Re: Wounded Seahorse

There may be several options but start by posting the model number of what you have so we're all on the same page. We got the book and chapter but we need to get closer.<br /><br />In the meantime, take yours apart and see what is good and what is not. We'll go from there. A good used one is always an option. Gotta know what ya got.<br /><br />Good luck!

Chinewalker

Fleet Admiral

Hi Envy83<br /> Chances are that the lower unit is indeed toasted. If you can work on it yourself and are resourceful, you might be able to turn up a good set of used innards, buy some bearings, etc. and get in under the cost of a new lower unit or paying someone to rebuild it. Or, you might get lucky and find a good used one on eBay for a lot less than new/dealer-used.<br /> Water is not known for its lubricating properties and if a bearing goes out, it usually takes a lot of other stuff with it as metal filings make their way through the unit. First step would be to take the unit off and take it apart, then get back to us with what you find...<br />- Scott

carmangary1

Seaman