2003 Johnson 150 problem

tcooper

Recruit
Ran fine for about 3 weeks. Has developed a problem when running over 4,100 rpms engine will lose power. Never stalls or misfires, just slows down like the timing is retarding. When engine slows down fuel ball is normal, tried pumping it, no change. Put vac gauge on fuel supply line, never exceeded 2 inches. Tried pushing key to prime position when problem is occuring, no change. Looking into carbs when problem starts, no visible change in the amount of fuel being drawn. Attached inductive timing lite to each plug wire when problem is happening, flashes on all cylinders. Suspect module is retarding timing, but the problem is quite predictable and seems to occur at all engine temps, from cold to hot. I am an automotive tech, and most module type failures I have encountered have not been as consistant and are usually affected by temp. Any help would be great. My local dealer has a four week backlog before he can even look at it, I'm hoping I can speed up the process.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: 2003 Johnson 150 problem

You may want to try emailing Johnson/Bombardier directly. They may have a tech bulletin on it. Or may be hearing about same problem from others.

rabidfish

Senior Chief Petty Officer

To what rpm does the engine slow down to? Does your warning horn beep when you turn on the key?<br />Does any lights come on on your "system check" gauge? Do you have a system check gauge?

clanton

Rear Admiral

Is this a BOMB or OMC buildt engine?

MIKE F

Petty Officer 1st Class

clanton, you're slipping :D <br />You've got to know, that since this is a 2003 engine, it has to be a Bomb. ;)

clanton

Rear Admiral