no fire to spark plugs on 50 hp johnson

docjohnson

Cadet
Tried to start up boat for first time this year and it started once and quit. It will turn over, but not start. I have no fire to the spark plugs, but the starter works, the switch seems to be ok, all the grounds seem fine, the push in automatic choke doesn't seem to be working, when I manually choke it still won't start. I replaced the spark plugs, the rectifier, and unplugged the main power cord to the motor to check the ground on the ignition switch and still no fire. I don't know what to do next, I ordered a new ignition switch just in case it is that. The model number is J48ESLCCC, the serial number is G7756886. Please explain in simple layman's terms as I am a mechanic with no experience on boat motors. I did order a manual also. Thanks for any help.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: no fire to spark plugs on 50 hp johnson