click! no start???

sergioy

Petty Officer 1st Class
I have a '63 75 hp johnny that refuses to start. I was cranking it for about ten minutes but could not get it to start. I left it alone for a while and when I went back all I heard was a weird click. But it did not sound like it was coming from the starter, or from anywhere on the motor for that matter. There is a box that sits near the motor, could it be coming from there? I am new to boating so even my diagnostic skills are pretty bad. :confused:

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: click! no start???

Your starter solinoid is in that box it is<br />the solinoid clicking that you hear.Make sure all connections are clean and tight.<br />Check the voltage at the heavy wire from battery at the solinoid.If present then check the voltage at the heavy wire that goes from solinoid to the starter when you click it.<br /> If no voltage at the starter side replace the solinoid.If there is voltage then there is a problem with the starter.

12Footer

Fleet Admiral

That box is called a "starter solenoid". It takes the small current 12Volts from the switch to close a set of monster contacts inside to power the starter motor. Without this, the ignition switch would have to be huge, and have huge battery cables going from it to the starter, from the battery...Not practical.<br />To test, jump the two monster size lugs with one jumper cable, or a large screwdriver. Watch out for sparks. Make certain there is no gas present, or the sparks could ignitite the fuel :eek: <br /><br />But the starter should turn-over. if not, the soleniod is vbad, or the battery is low, or a bad connector on the battery, or solenoid.<br />The clicking sound means the ignition switch is werking "START" to the solenoid.

sergioy

Petty Officer 1st Class

I'll give it a try guys. Thanks for the advice. :p

sergioy

Petty Officer 1st Class

If the selanoid is bad, could I get one at the auto part store. Or do I need to get it from a boat dealer?

Solittle