Novice ? 59 Johnson 35hp needs the experts.

Whitlers

Seaman
Need help with Synchronizing throttle and ignition advance and fuel saver linkage. <br /><br />1) How should I have the controls set when I adjust the speed control linkage.<br /><br />2)when setting the fuel saver Linkage same question how should I have the controls set.<br /><br />Sorry for the novice questions but the manual I have explains the above procedures but not in detail. I am new to boat engines and all help and any suggestions are welcomed. Thanks <br /><br />Also to the developers of this site --GREAT SITE--

rolmops

Vice Admiral
Re: Novice ? 59 Johnson 35hp needs the experts.

I'd love to help,but it is sort of impossible without you giving a model # or at least a year or production.<br />Help me help you.

Whitlers

Seaman

Ahhh Shoot, Sorry year is 1959 I understand how to set the speed control by lining up aligning the speed control grip with the pointer but as the orig post mentioned how should I have the controls set or does it matter ? thanks for your help.

Lark40

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Same advice I give to everybody with engines like ours:<br /><br />Go to your local boat store and buy a copy of Clymer's 1956-1972 Johnson/Evinrude Repair Manual.<br /><br />That has everything you need to get and keep your engine running strong.

Whitlers

Seaman

Thanks I have a Johnson Service manual on order from Amazon am currently using manual from INTERTEC it is the WORST service manual I have ever seen.

Whitlers

Seaman

Are there any other document sources I should investigate?

rolmops

Vice Admiral

The user friendly manual is, for me at least, the Seloc johnson evinrude from '56 till '72 for engines up to 40 horse.<br />I'll get back later on the subject question.

rolmops

Vice Admiral