Electrical short, new parts, no power

Scarab302

Cadet
Hello, I have a strange one here. I have a pair of 94 Evinrude 200's. On one of the engines I had a major electrical short, it burned every wire under the power pack. I replaced every part, the rectifire/regulator, powerpack, stator, timer base and the wire harness. All brand new OMC original equipment, $1200.00 worth. The engine started right up and idles nice, but I cant get any power out of it, all I get is about 2000 rpms and it sounds like it is struggling. I am not a mechanic by trade but I have worked on a lot of engines and the way the engine is acting is evident that the timing is not advancing. I checked all the linkage and everything is moving freely. I even tried to advance the timing even more with no luck. I hooked a timing light up to the engine and that was proof the timing was not advancing. Heres the kicker, to test the theory that the powerpack I bought was defective I swaped them with the other engine, now both engines are doing the same thing. Am I missing something? is there some sort of safety that sets these powerpacks to act like this, if so how do you reset it? Could I have shorted out 2 powerpacks with all brand new electrical parts? Any help would be great.<br /><br />Thanks,<br />Chris

seahorse5

Rear Admiral
Re: Electrical short, new parts, no power

Is the timer base (sensor assembly) physically rotating smoothly all the way to its rubber stop when the throttle lever is advanced? If not, melted insulation could have jammed in the plastic bearing ring.<br /><br />If the motor runs smooth up to about 2000-2500, then runs rough and won't go any higher, the SLOW circuit may be kicked in. That could be anything from a shorted temp switch, grounded tan wires, bad pack, or a diode in the wiring harness. If you give it a quick "blip" in neutral, it should rev above the problem rpm. If not, it is definately a SLOW circuit problem.

Scarab302

Cadet