2 Stroke or 4 Stroke

wallco1

Cadet
Im getting ready to order my new bass boat (21') First choice was either Merc optimax or Evinrude ficht 225's, but now with the 4 strokes out Yamaha 225 (not a big fan of Yamaha) But NOW! Honda has a 225 V-Tec 4 stroke, If its as good as the other Honda products it should be great. Any thoughts

CAPTBLACKSMARINE

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 2 Stroke or 4 Stroke

wallco1, i prefer the fichts they are the fastest of the engines you mentioned and the lightest,i have ran several of them and they performed excellent.great mileage and performance to boot.

almost retired again

Chief Petty Officer

Hi Wallco1;<br />I agree with Captain Black, Ficths are the way to go. I don't sell boats, don't even own one, just worked on them for many years.<br />Just my opinion

tajones

Cadet

Wallco1,<br />I'm not an expert like most of these guys on this board, but I have been doing some research on engines. I'm not sure that Honda, Yamaha, and Mercury ain't nearly the same powerheads. I don't know anything about the fichts, but if it's speed you want, these guys won't steer you wrong with their opinion. Just my two cents.<br />Jabo

what200

Petty Officer 2nd Class

If it doesn't sink your boat (it's almost 600#) I'd bet it will be reliable. But, don't expect it to accelerate like a 225 or even a 200 2 stoke. 4 stroke tend to lack low rpm torque. I recently saw a guy selling new (2001's) johnson 225HO's (247 hp) for $9900. Gas milage probably sucks but $7000 buys alot of gas.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus