connecting fishfinder to gps - why?

fishingdan

Lieutenant Junior Grade
As I have been looking at fishfinders, I see that man of them are capable of connecting to a gps (NMEA). <br /><br />I am new to the gps world and I don't understand why this is desired. I have a 16' center console. As a result, my gps and ff are next to each other. If I wanted to know my position, I can look at my gps. If I want to create a waypoint, I can do it directly on my gps. <br /><br />Most recreational fishing boats also appear to have these units next to each other. If it wasn't demanded by the market, I don't think the manufacturers would build in this functionality. What am I missing?<br /><br />Thanks

Luna Sea

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: connecting fishfinder to gps - why?

Bells and whistles, that's all.<br /><br />I've wondered this myself. Ya need the GPS to plug in a NMEA cable, I guess if the display on your GPS is isn't as "sunlight viewable" as say, your new Raymarine fishfinder......... :D

fishingdan

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Fortunately, my gps also passed the "sunglasses" test. :cool: <br /><br />Maybe someone else has an idea...

surplusman

Seaman Apprentice