Is foam flotation a legal requirement?

santa666

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I have searched the posting and didn't fine anything on if foam floatation is a REQUIREMENT. <br /><br />I've also looked at the USCG sites and can't find a straight answer, just an S-load of math formulas for "backyard boatbuilders"...<br /><br />My boat is NOT new, just had rotten stringers...<br /><br />BTW I am repowering with a similar weight outboard, so nothing radical there. <br /><br />Just want to pass a USCG inspection when it comes time to refloat her...

CN Spots

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Is foam flotation a legal requirement?

Requirements are based on location. 'round here, no. THe only flotation we need goes around your neck. There? Dunno. If it had it, I'd put it back once you're done with the stringers just to be safe. <br /><br />Never heard anybody complain about their boat sinking too slow.<br /><br />spots

djvan

Chief Petty Officer

I'm no expert, but from what I have read the foam adds a lot to the structure of the hull.<br /><br />DougV>

santa666

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Yeah, I just don't see how any foam can add to the structure... EVERY foam I've EVER seen can be dented by just pushing a fingertip into it- How can something SO mushy add to the rigidity of my boat? <br /><br />I GET the safety factor, I really do, but after a while isn't all that foam going to act like a sponge and soak up humidity. I've read post after post on how great the closed cell stuff is, but in the long run it seems like its all going to soak up water- BTW The boat did not have foam when made new. I've called the Racine Wi. maker of 2-part sprayable closed cell (what I would use), and they WILL NOT sell to the public- <br /><br />I won't use styro, or pink insulation- those are sponge city too... I hear sealed bottles are no better-<br /><br />Your .02?

Bondo

Staff member

I hear sealed bottles are no better