1949 Johnson Qd-10 Help

REDROCCO16V

Cadet
This is my 1st post to the forums, I have been a boat owner for about 9 days now. I have used this forum alot but have ran into a problem. I recently purchase 2 boats one is a 1958 lone start malibu. This is the boat I plan on keeping. I also bought a 1997 John boat. The malibu is a project and right now just a aluminum hull. The john boat included the qd-10 outboard.

Ok enough of my buying habits. I am a auto mechanic/tech by trade so I am familuar w/engines/nuts/bolts. I filled spark plug holes for a few days w/seafoam before pulling engine over. I verified ok compression (75psi for both cyl.) Then I checked for spark (only had it on one cyl) Pulled flywheel and found one coil melted down. Since coils are not available for this engine unless I found NOS for $100e. I decided to swap coil from metal armature on later model coils. This worked good on the cyl. missing spark so I did both, cleaned points set gap ect. I now have good spark. I ran engine out of water for about 20 sec. (as much fuel as i had in carb bowl/fuel tank not worked out yet) I cannot find carb kit for this engine (i have found bowl gasket only) Ok engine runs, but know I want to check lower unit and install new water pump impellar. Got lower housing off (what a pita no quick connect for shift linkage) New impellar sourced/installed.

Now my actual question comes back to the gear box, The oil was not very pretty (dark/sludge) but not milky. I was concerned though that the 1st second or 2 while draining was just water. Not sure if gear oil/water seperated since last time on the water or what. My main problem is I cannot find good #s to replaced the lower unit seals. The o-rings I can make work but the lip seals for the prop shaft and drive shaft are hard to find.
Can anyone help locate part#s for these 2 seals.

Sorry for all the back round info, And thanks in advance for any help.
Charlie.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1949 Johnson Qd-10 Help