Mercury 125EXLPTO Charging Question

lsyrkin

Recruit
Hi,

Can someone explain how Mercury 125 charging system is designed? My uncle asked me to help him with his Mercury 125 125EXLPTO outboard. He noticed that voltage on running motor is about 12V and it used to be 13.5V. I have some experience with the car electrical but not with outboards. I suspected that generator does not work. We disconnected the battery while running the motor and it did not die. It makes me think that either generator is OK or ignition and charging are separate systems. Does it mean that when the voltage regulator is broken the motor still can run?

Thank you in advance,
Leonid

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral
Re: Mercury 125EXLPTO Charging Question

Test the rectifier/regulator. If it wasn't bad it most likely is now. Never run an outboard with the battery disconnected. It is not an old car with a generator system. There are coils that is part of the stator that provides AC to the rectifier which changes the AC to DC. The systems now days have a regulator that is part of the rectifier. When you run the motor with the battery disconnected you blow diodes in the rectifier. Also if you connect the battery up backwards even for a split second it will blow diodes.

wired247

Lieutenant Commander

Yeah. Don't do that. You dont have a separate alternator or generator aside from the stator.