Is this NEWBIE out of his league buying this boat??? Be honest...

Morgueman

Seaman
Hi Folks!

So I've been busy with the RV world (owning tent trailers, travel trailers, motorhome, etc.) with the family (wife and 2 teenage boys) for the past 15 years, and now, living in San Diego, I want to learn about boating. The wife (hopefully soon to be The Admiral), is ok with getting a boat as long as we sell the motorhome :grumpy:. Aside from trailering a Portabote around for use a few times in some Southern CA lakes and once in San Diego Bay, I'm a total newbie to the boating world. My goal is store the boat at my house, and trailer it to a variety of Southern CA lakes, Mission Bay, San Diego Bay, other coastal areas, and when I have enough experience and courage, take it out to Catalina (from Long Beach, CA). When possible, we also plan to stay overnight in it.

After looking all over the internet, and going to the Inland Boat Center (Perris, CA) HippMarine (Newport Beach, CA) and a couple of other lots, I think we're narrowing in on the Regal 2565 (dry weight of 5950#)....although we haven't seen one in-person yet.

I have a few questions for the experienced amongst you...

1. Do you think I'll have problems launching this boat in the smaller lakes of southern CA? I'm concerned about 1) depth of water at the ramp given this boat's maximum draft of 34". 2) Using a Lincoln Navigator as a tow vehicle (8600# tow capacity, 2-wheel rear drive only), will the weight of this boat put my Navigator at risk of sliding down a launch ramp (especially one coated with algae/moss, etc.)

2. Is this an adequate boat for getting to Catalina (probably from Long Beach, CA)?

3. Is a boat this size too much for a newbie's first "real" boat?

Thanks to all...In addition to the questions above, I'd love to hear any other comments you have about this plan.

Eric (Morgueman)

Natesms

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Is this NEWBIE out of his league buying this boat??? Be honest...