1983 85HP: My compression results- what are the plugs telling me?

Benz Mondi

Petty Officer 2nd Class
OK did my compression test. I'm assuming that the top most plug is the called cylinder #1. Top to bottom: 145, 140,145. The plugs were black and dry. The left one is the plug from the top. What is the picture telling me about the life each plug has been leading?

Attachments

• SANY0155.jpg
    SANY0155.jpg
    96.4 KB · Views: 0

bkhealey

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 1983 85HP: My compression results- what are the plugs telling me?

Well your compression is good, but your plugs are fowled. Most likely your fuel is too rich or you have you have a bad fuel mix. What year and model motor is it? Are you sure you have your Gas to Oil mix right and your gas is good? When is the last time you had your carbs adjusted and cleaned? Check those first. How old are those plugs?

Brian

I am no Engine Expert by any means just going from what I have done and seen!

Last edited:

Jiggz

Captain

The plugs are fouled which means you need to make sure the carbs are adjusted properly (1 turn out from slightly seated for the idel mixture screw) and using proper fuel-oil mix. 50:1 ratio. And then you need to de-carbonize the engine using seafoam or straight seafoam sprayed into the carbs while revving her up. As for the plug, you can just leave them as they are and will be cleaned by the de-carboning process or you can brush them clean them first.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Was working on a new customers boat.85/85
I always try to check the carbs if it's possible.
The one turn out from lightly seated wasn't getting it right.
It would cough and kick like the screws were in to far.
It needed to be out about 1 2/3 turns out.
So much for the factory settings??
Mine run good at 1 turn out? 88/85
You need to fine tune your carbs.

Benz Mondi

Petty Officer 2nd Class