Mercury 75 engine running. Opinions / advice wanted.

BenbowJ

Recruit

Hi. I am hopeing that someone with knowlege of these engines can tell me if this engine sounds like it's running OK. It's not a great Video but hopefully someone with a good ear may be able to comment.
I bought it in unknown condition and, whilst it did run on collection, it wasn't entirely happy about it. I have replaced the carb linkage, cleaned the carbs, compression check and did a link & synch. As a result it is running a lot cleaner and is a lot easier to start. I have yet to put in the water to test it yet.
I don't have a lot of experience with 2 stroke triples but I do know that they sound a little lumpy on tickover. To me it seems to pick up the revs quite well and pumps water well.
Any feedback and advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
John

Last edited:

hsi111

Seaman
Re: Mercury 75 engine running. Opinions / advice wanted.

We'll, I am no mechanic so take this with a grain of salt but it sounds a little rough to me especially when you give it gas. I take it you have not put it in the water? I am anxious to see what the mechanics think. Rick

BenbowJ

Recruit

Thanks Rick.
Whilst it's a massive improvement from when I first fired it up. I did have to re set the timing although I had to use a vernier as I don't have a dial guage. Was awkward to do on my own. Next step is to put it on the water. I'm keen to know what the experts think aswell.
John

oldman570

Lieutenant Commander