You know it is a bad day when:

Pantharen

Seaman Apprentice
001.jpg

004.jpg

Grub54891

Vice Admiral
Re: You know it is a bad day when:

Ahhh....the joy of a roller trailer! Brother in law did the same thing!

kfa4303

Banned

Gotta keep that wench hook on a bit longer. That's why I don't have rollers either. Every time I gripe about having to use the bunks, I think about a pic like this. I hope he know a good glasser :/

Pantharen

Seaman Apprentice

Guy was an idiot, and disconnected the safety chain before the boat was at the water.. His Words "I have always used just the winch, and its always held the boat" I told him "the winch isn't designed to hold the weight of the boat, they're not designed for that purpose, they're designed to pull the boat onto the trailer.. Your safety chain is designed to carry the weight of the boat until you're at the water.. The first thing you connect & the last thing you remove is the safety chain"

He says to me "I've been boating for 20 years and have never done that" and I replied "and I can see the results on my launch ramp" "a lesson that will cost you about $2500 to repair"

rowlex

Petty Officer 2nd Class

^^^ you sure?

My safety chain is never tight... my boat is always secured by the winch and it holds strong. I thought the safety chain was just that--safety if the winch fails.

oldjeep

Admiral

The first thing you connect & the last thing you remove is the safety chain"

How could the chain be the first thing you connect? (Hint, that winch is there for a reason)

skydiveD30571

Lieutenant Junior Grade

My safety chain coils up and has a good 12-18" of loose length before it would be tight.

bassman284

Commander

^^^ you sure?

My safety chain is never tight... my boat is always secured by the winch and it holds strong. I thought the safety chain was just that--safety if the winch fails.