Pinhole leak in shift or trim cable

gumby53220

Recruit
I am new to boating and I have a pinhole leak in a hose that goes from the motor to the side console. I assume it is a hydraulic line. The leak squirts out pretty fast Is there a way to temporarily patch by cutting it and using a push connector? The hose appears to be 1/4 to 3/8ths inch plastic. Is there a type of tape that I can use temporarily? I would like to get the boat through the rest of the season.(Mid October). I am replacing the floor over the winter and probably would replace the offending hose at that time.

The boat I purchased recently is a

1988 Sea Nymph 16 ft fish and ski
70 HP Johnson

The VRO is dissconnected

Thanks for your help,

Jeff

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: Pinhole leak in shift or trim cable

Welcome to iboats gumby.

When does "it" squirt out?
What is squirting out? Water? oil?

A boat and motor of that size, should not have hydraulic steering.
And the tilt n trim unit is contained to the motor.

My guess is that it is either a pressure line which runs to a water pressure gauge, if you have one, which will leak when the engine is running.

Or its a pressure line that runs to the speedometer, which will leak when under way, increasing as you go faster..

If it is hydraulic, you have a problem.
If it is a water line, patch it in any way you like.

cr2k

Captain

Have had some luck with hydrolic lines using a piece of leather and a hose clamp.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral

if (I HIGHLY doubt it) it's a hydraulic line there are compression fittings specifically for plastic lines but if it's a water line as above you can do about anything because it is low pressure and non critical....

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

Where is the leak exactly? Unless you have hydraulic steering I doubt its anything other then water. Trace the line towards the dashboard and that will tell ;)

gumby53220

Recruit