Prop Guards?

Techtraveler

Seaman Apprentice
Is anyone using a Prop Guard on their boat? If so, what kind, is it problematic, cost, anything else you can tell me?

We have decided to buy a boat with an Outboard on it, but we highly considered a Jet due to the marine life around were we live. Mainly Manatees and Dolphins. Yes Dolphins can be struck by a prop. I can see how they may limit the motor some, and I am wiling to lose a few HP for this. Also, we plan on using the boat to pull tubes maybe ski, so I want to chance of someone getting in the boat having a problem.

Thanks,

TT

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: Prop Guards?

I have no prop guard experience.
Have only ever seen 2 at the ramp.

Well, jets stir up the bottom in shallow areas. Here they are restricted to idle speed in many shallow areas.
Do you have similar restrictions?

Props do some stirring up as well, but people tend to drive a little more cautiously with a prop.

With an outboard powered jet, you generally lose about 1/3 of the hp, but keep the same fuel consumption.

Engine is OFF when anyone is in the water near the boat.

Techtraveler

Seaman Apprentice

I have ruled out jets completely, including Outboard Jets. I do not know of any restrictions due to shallow water in the area.

phillnjack2

Ensign

well they do exactly what they say they do
GUARD THE PROP.

But they cause a small loss in performance in certain ways and give performance in others.

yes they do stop certain damage to props, And if they are the big plastic ones they do make people realise its a dangerous area due to colours etc.

NOW THE PRICE
the plastic prop guards are way too expensive for what they are, they are very easy to break as well.
The stainless ones are expensive but will last a long time and will protect the prop more.

marine life if hit by a prop suffer terrible wounds even at low speeds, but at high speed even a prop guard will cause terrible wounds.