1977 Bayliner quartermaster worth the trouble?

Hi there, so last weekend i made the rather rash purchase of a 1977 Bayliner quartermaster. It has a 4 cylinder volvo engine and a 280 outdrive. Im not a mechanic, but have done a few repairs over the years. I kept a 1980 70hp evinrude outboard alive for a while finally lost the battle its sitting somewhere waiting. Anyhow, i would like to call upon the vast experience of this forum and find out whether i should just clean this boat up a little and try to pass her on to someone else or endeavor to learn her inside out in the hope of having some trouble free hours of boating on the lakes of california with the wife and kids.
The boat is in really good shape, barely a scratch on the hull, and almost all the original bits. windscreen wiper, horn, interior sparkles. someone cherished this boat and kept it garaged.
The guy i bought it off was not too familiar with mechanics and had already bought new starter and had it installed at some price. He told me he'd had it up on the plane in the lake but used it mostly for trolling. I interpreted this as it didn't have enough umph to get on the plane for some reason. Then i noticed on some paperwork his repair shop advised a carb rebuild. Maybe i should have quit then! Anyhow it started up fine and ticked over and went in and out of gear. he did this for 40 secs before i realised he hadn't hooked up a hose and cups to the outdrive. Im assuming there is some impellar that is probably fried. Anyway, the boat and engine look really clean. Is this worth devoting time to maintaining and repairing or have i bought a load of headache? Any feed back much appreciated!!

captmello

Captain
Re: 1977 Bayliner quartermaster worth the trouble?

Welcome!