Any experience with Atwood fuel tank?

Rooster7118

Cadet
Took my boat out for the first time this past weekend, ran great for about 2 miles stopped to do a little fishing started it back up ran fine until I throttled it then it died. It would start back no problem idle for a few seconds then die again, I went thru this numerous times eventually gave up and got a tow back to the dock. I recently purchased a new Atwood plastic fuel tank with a "vent" free cap and a quick connect fuel line from Wally World.
Anyone have any thoughts or experience with these tanks and fuel lines? Or any idea's?

1988 Johnson 28 SPL
87 Octane
Penzoil synthetic mixed 50:1

nwcove

Admiral
Re: Any experience with Atwood fuel tank?

i have no experience with atwood tanks, but i do have experience with the connectors......they are nfg. they leak fuel while priming, then suck air while running. not worth a plug nickel. jmo

TD_Maker

Chief Petty Officer

The ATWOOD fuel tank is absolutely horribe. I purchased the same tank at Wally World and TRIED to use it. The Vent Free gas cap is supposed to be good for the enviroment....but it does not work. WARNING, this tank is built to swell up in the sun....and it certainly does that....Like a balloon. be sure to leave the gas cap unscrewed to prevent this.

I finally drilled a hole in the gas cap, and installed a rubber automotive tire valve in the hole. When I am using the tank, I will unscrew the cap on the valve and let the tank breath. When I am done, I replace the little cap, and open unscrew the filler cap slighty to let the tank breath and help with the swelling.

bonzoscott

Senior Chief Petty Officer