Evinrude 70HP VRO - glastron miniday

Fte1965

Cadet
Hi

I just became proud owner of a glastron miniday 500 with an evinrude 70HP VRO outboard motor. The previous owner had the boat lying around in the garden barely covered so you can imagine the state it was in when I bought it. The Evinrude was not the original motor, guess it is from the mid eighties. When I removed the motor cover I was very surprised that it still looked quite good. After transporting the boat back to my home I cleaned the boat. I tried to recharge the battery without success, so i bought a new battery. I filled up the gas tank, the oil reservoir was still ok so i did not refill it.

I am a newbie so I have to figure out the motor control box shifter. does anybody have a manual ??

I played around with it, pushed the pump in the fuel tube and the motor started, i guess when you push the ignition key you activate the electric shoke?
but after revving up the motor stops without any reason. Is this a problem with the carburators or something else ?

hope someone can point me in the right direction

matt167

Captain
Re: Evinrude 70HP VRO - glastron miniday

First off, drain that oil. With a motor sitting you have no clue if the VRO pump is working and even if it is, I would consider the remaining oil contaminated. Refill the reservoir and mix some TCW3 at 50:1 and restart. If the VRO pump is working, it will probably smoke a lot and you could note it working anyway, and if not, the 50:1 mix will save the motor from damage, and if it is working, the extra oil will only help relube everything from sitting

As for the control, it likely is push to choke. Pics will help. No clue if you have a dual lever or a single lever. Makes a difference, but it probably does need a carb rebuild

boobie

Supreme Mariner

First thing to do is check the compression to see if you have something to work with. Then check the spark on an open air gap tester set at 7/16 ". After that do the carbs.

Fte1965

Cadet