Force 85---- newbie here

Lakerfan73

Cadet
Hello all... I just purchased a 1989 17ft Bayliner with an Force 85 outboard. Overall boat is in awesome shape.... One issue.... And no idea what to do. I've read up within the forum but can't really find an answer.....

When the Motor is in the transport angle... Manual trim. No leaks at all. When I put the motor down its leaks a little from two small holes... Really small holes. It's a green type of oil. Seems too thin to be gear oil. So I put the motor is some water.... A big tub. Started it and the same oil comes out then too. I don't know if the guy I bought it from overfilled or what. Haven't had it in the water yet, as I'm afraid this could be bad. Any help would be great!!!!! When I said green type of oil....it looks almost like forest green. Looks clean as well. No water in it....

Lakerfan73

Cadet
Re: Force 85---- newbie here

Hello all... I just purchased a 1989 17ft Bayliner with an Force 85 outboard. Overall boat is in awesome shape.... One issue.... And no idea what to do. I've read up within the forum but can't really find an answer.....
Hello is anyone there??

When the Motor is in the transport angle... Manual trim. No leaks at all. When I put the motor down its leaks a little from two small holes... Really small holes. It's a green type of oil. Seems too thin to be gear oil. So I put the motor is some water.... A big tub. Started it and the same oil comes out then too. I don't know if the guy I bought it from overfilled or what. Haven't had it in the water yet, as I'm afraid this could be bad. Any help would be great!!!!! When I said green type of oil....it looks almost like forest green. Looks clean as well. No water in it....

Hello?? Anyone anyone at all???

dan4081

Petty Officer 2nd Class

What holes is it leaking from?
Pictures would help.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner