Can I get a harmonic balancer of an 8 Chevy engine that will work for my 88 merc 4.3L

Noltz

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Can I get a harmonic balancer of an 8 Chevy engine that will work for my 88 merc

Are you asking if a Chev 5.0 V8 harmonic balancer will fit a 4.3 V6? The answer is yes, BUT. There's 3 different size balancers for the old 305; 6 1/4", 6 3/4" and 8". I used to get asked this question every time I ordered a dang belt for these engines in the C and K-series pickup trucks. Just checking over on summitdirect I found a few balancers that list both engines in their descriptions. I am NOT a marine mechanic and I don't know if the belt arrangement is the same from automotive to marine, but if they are you may find ordering a balancer straight for the V6 to be your best bet.

Ming15237

Seaman
Re: Can I get a harmonic balancer of an 8 Chevy engine that will work for my 88 merc

Hermonic balances are engine specific, they are very different from v6 engines to v8, their objective is to counteract the harmonics of cylinder firing operations, which are different from v6 to v8. Damage to a crankshaft can result by using the incorrect one.

achris

More fish than mountain goat

ok... Here's what I found. This only applies to non-vortec engines.

The front cover seal for the V6 and V8s are the same, means the hub outer diameters match. The timing tab used on both engines is the same, meaning the balancer outer diameters are the same. The cam timing sprockets are the same, so the hub inside diameters are the same. Even the pulleys on some engines (V6/V8) are the same. That means a marine V8 balancer will fit on a V6 engine... BUT... as the V6 and V8 are both 90? vees, making the V8 a balanced engine, and the V6 an unbalanced engine, the weighting of the pulleys are very likely to be quite different....

Would I put a V8 balancer on a V6 engine? Most definitely NOT!!!!

Chris......

Last edited:

Fun Times

Staff member