1973 65hp Evinrude leaking+bad cylinder compression

Hello iboats I am new here and could use some help. I recently bought a boat and after a couple of rides a couple of days ago i went on the lake and about 15 min. after i went out the motor started making an awkward noise (knocking sound) I turned of the engine. tried to turn it back on and it wouldn't. (seized). after getting towed back home I removed the spark plugs then tried to turn over and it did. Did a compression test and I get 120, 120, 30... obviously this is horrible.. but also oil is leaking from somewhere under the engine because after turning it over oil comes out of the casing so its visible from the outside. Also if i try turning it over around 5-6 times it may seize up, until i pull the spark plugs back out. Sorry if my details dont explain much, but I am new to boats, but good with car mechanics. 2 strokes are different to me but I'm understanding them more.

I am wondering if this a job that I could maybe handle, and also what could have caused this? I took each spark plug out and each one is letting off spark.

jbjennings

Captain
Re: 1973 65hp Evinrude leaking+bad cylinder compression

The bad news is that what you describe sounds like your motor overheated due to a lean carb causing detonation or lack of water flow to the powerhead. I am suspicious by the knocking sound that you have a bad wrist pin in a piston. I'd even suspect that a connecting rod has broken and cracked the case except you still have 30psi of compression. Due to the age of the motor, I'd look for a good used powerhead on the auction sites. Boring the cylinders, new pistons/pins, rings, rods, and powerhead gasket set is probably the very least the motor needs and since the motor is so old, it's not worth the price to rebuild in my opinion-- a good used powerhead is much cheaper if you can find one. I could be totally wrong---I'm not a professional marine technician, so hopefully a true expert will answer your post.