Pontoon, Runabout or Deck Boat?

Mike D.

Cadet
Hi, I am new to boating and this forum so I would appreciate any help anyone can offer. My wife and I just purchased a lake front home and naturally we want to have a boat. Our original thought was to buy a 24' pontoon (lots of family) and a small runabout until I discovered the DeckBoat. It appears as though this would serve dual purpose with one purchase. Again being a novice boater, I have been lookig at 23' boats for starters (Used Chris Craft Sport deck 230 for instance) and would like readers opinion on size and manufacturer (as well as engine type/HP). The house comes with two docks, one of which has a boat hoist. The boat would be used primarily for crusing, but I'm sure some family members will want to go tubing and skiing. I don't want to overbuy, but I dont want to underbuy either. Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks ...
Mike D.

Malibu Rudder

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Pontoon, Runabout or Deck Boat?

Welcome aboard Mike D. You will enjoy your experience on this forum. This is a personal preference for you, however please describe lots of family. I love all of your choices but if you say lots of family then I would recommend a Pontoon as it will give you more space then a deck boat. What size lake? I also highly recommend you checking out your lake rules.Many lakes have restrictions. For example my lake allows up to 28 feet in a pontoon but only 20 feet in a runabout or deck boat. If water sports are important I would suggest a Tri-toon with a 150hp. Size?? Well I might recommend 26ft. These are all personal opinions so it is something for you to decide. Water sports are always better on any boat other than a Pontoon but it can work and be fun. I had the same decision to make 5 years ago and I am glad I made the Pontoon decision....just wished I had purchased the Tri-Toon as they have a much better turning radius. Good luck and welcome again. :)

southkogs

Staff member