my introduction i guess

turbocorrado

Petty Officer 1st Class
hi everyone, new to boat ownership.

i recently acquired my wifes grandfathers boat. he blew the motor last week, cyl 4 has 30psi compression. he was gonna junk it, so i took it off his hands, and towed it 350 miles from Massachusetts to delaware.

im an auto technician as my day job. heres what i know about the boat.

i believe its a 73-75 mfg gypsy or super gypsy. engine is a mercury 115 hp straight 6 2 stroke
boat needs a new floor, motor needs a rebuild, all work will be done by me.
pic of the boat on its way home
1094955_704507027181_1925977141_n.jpg

crabby captain john

Lieutenant Commander
Re: my introduction i guess

"boat needs a new floor...."....................Huge red flag there. Get ready for more work,,, a lot more. A rotten floor indicates the stringers and transom are also rotten as rot USUALLY starts low and works up. Good luck with her.

turbocorrado

Petty Officer 1st Class

"boat needs a new floor...."....................Huge red flag there. Get ready for more work,,, a lot more. A rotten floor indicates the stringers and transom are also rotten as rot USUALLY starts low and works up. Good luck with her.

if its to bad then i will just junk the boat and get something newer. there is alot of sentimental value in the boat for her family, and i think her grandfather will be buying most of the materials. im gonna get the motor sorted out first and then pull the floor out

spdracr39

Lieutenant Junior Grade

get the floor sorted out first then you don't waste money on an antique motor that has no boat to go with it.

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral

Welcome to iboats..... I wish I could be more optimistic but I'm afraid your fil may have had the right idea