first time buyer,

icyveins

Petty Officer 2nd Class
curious being a first time buyer of a pontoon, what are some of the major things to look for.
I am going to go pick up a 28ft harris 1987 2.3l ford omc cobra.
I guess besides the main things like major noise and if it floats.......? what could be something that I really wanna check out?
Thanks in advance

MH Hawker

Vice Admiral
Re: first time buyer,

2.3l ford omc cobra, thats a old drive combination that been out of production a very long time and is getting hard to find parts for, personally I would pass it up.

icyveins

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I spoke with one of our main boat/engine suppliers and parts dealers around and they said I could do one of two things,
buy a 4.3 chvy with alpha and install, or they have parts still for the current setup. I am a mechanic at a CAT dealer so I would be able to tackle the repairs myself (not saying I am a certified marine mechanic at all but I have a little common sense)
for 2800$ I would hope I am on the winning side of the sale. I guess if there are any other things besides engine combo that I should look for in the boat structure itself? trust me I spent a whole night last week just reading on here about the 2.3l cobra setup and how parts really are not available. I really want this thing :grief:

Last edited:

crb478

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Parts are a challenge especially things like shift interrupter switches, gaskets. Switching the motor out is certainly doable, and buying a boat for the motor and outdrive can get you a bargain. The 2.3 works well on that model harris, as it rev's higher than the 3.0 chevy motor. If you check it out and it runs and shifts well, the motor may last a long time.

icyveins

Petty Officer 2nd Class