carb questions

amosh

Seaman Apprentice
my 1991 mercury v-200 carbed engine is hesitating out of the hole shot. it also idles rough and wants to flood from time to time. I replaced plugs and it got a little better, but still noticable hesitation. i have plug wires on the way, but i was wondering if there is a good way to clean the carbs out while they are on the engine. i am a little hesitant to pull them off because its a bank of three carbs and i have no experience with syncronising a bank of carbs after the cleaning is complete

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral
Re: carb questions

You could try running some Sea Foam in the fuel. You might get lucky.

Randy Haining

Recruit

I just experienced the same problem with the same model/year motor. You shouldn't have to worry about re-synchronizing the carbs just pop off the oil pump linkage (to carb), remove the three bolts and take the carb linkage off. (if you have a manual it's straight forward). You'll find that a modified 7/16" wrench is necessary to remove the lower nuts for the bottom carb (just cut one to where you can work comfortably). Make sure you identify and mount the carbs in the same position as they were remove. Remove the bowl/float and needle valve/seat, turn over and remove the six screws from the top cover exposing the mixing chamber. (this was the dirty area on my motor). It's advisable to replace the needle and seat but not totally necessary. I used carb cleaner in the spray form and cleaned/blew through all orifice's being extremely careful not to get anything on the floats or tips of my needle valves (original tips had rubber coating/replacements don't). Re-assemble in the reverse and when installing the carb linkage, just push it onto the three carb pins and after you re-attached the oil pump linkage you'll notice the carb linkage is in the same position as before...just install the three bolts.