Opinions on Stratus 2100 DC? 1st time boater shopping

mikebel

Cadet
Hi all. I'm new to boating; only have a 12' jon boat w/ 6 hp motor right now. LOL! I've been reading a lot on this forum and window shopping on Boat Trader. My brother in RI is a big-time boat guy and he's giving me advice but he's also 1100 miles away.

I'd like a used boat big enough for my family of 5; kids are all teenagers; no little ones. Looking at 21', bow rider that can be used to fish or ski. I don't think I'll be comfortable driving anything bigger than 21' I hear outboards are best for beginners. My budget is about 10k max.

I will also have a marine inspection done on any boat I consider buying. I'm in no rush to buy; pretty much just learning right now.

I have come across a 1997 Stratos 2100 DC w/ a 175hp Johnson Ocean Runner. It's at a dealer near me. I'd like to go look at it, but thought I'd ask the forum a couple questions first:

1) Opinions on Stratos boats? The 2100 DC is a "fish & ski" type model. Anyone familiar with these? Pro's & Con's?
2) Questions to ask when I see the boat? I know to ask for maintenance records and engine hours, but what else?
3) Not being able to speak w/ the original owner; is this a negative?
4) Should I expect any type of warranty from a used boat dealer?

I've got a lot to learn, but figured I'd just start asking questions. I've learned a lot on my Harley forum and hoping to find the same help/ info here.

Thanks all!

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Re: Opinions on Stratus 2100 DC? 1st time boater shopping