Starting/starter Issues

java230

Petty Officer 1st Class
Ok i'm having a weird issue with starting my motor. Is a 82 2 cyl 2 stroke 40hp.
I'm new to bigger outboards.... I'm fine with cars, but never dealt with a permanent magnet starter.

To start, the battery is sitting at 12.78 V after sitting for 24 hours after running. So I don't think its a bad battery.

Turn the key, get a weird "grinding" noise, doesn't really sound like grinding, but more the starter motor is having trouble turning. try a few times all with the same result.

Now disconnect the battery and leave it disconnected for 30 seconds, hook it back it and usually it cranks right over. Sometimes need to repeat the disconnecting, but usually it starts right up. Go out on the lake, I can turn it off, swim and it starts right up an hour later. It once didn't start on the lake, but it had been sitting more like 3 hours that time, disconnect, reconnect and it good to go.

All the connections at the starter, battery and whatnot are tight and appear in good condition.

Any ideas?

Bad starter? Bad contactor/solenoid? (it almost looks like the PO replaced the contactor/solenoid recently, its nice and clean without the 2 stroke grime on it yet, I bought the boat a couple months ago)

java230

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Starting/starter Issues

No one huh? Guess its as weird to everyone else as it is to me....

Dave1027

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Try lubricating the starter bendix and shaft.

java230

Petty Officer 1st Class

bendix is well lubed. Ill check the shaft tonight.

MH Hawker

Vice Admiral

One of the standard trouble shooting things is to take apart ever connection no matter how good it may look and polish and tighten it. That is 70 % of starter problems.

java230

Petty Officer 1st Class

One of the standard trouble shooting things is to take apart ever connection no matter how good it may look and polish and tighten it. That is 70 % of starter problems.