1958 Johnson 35hp running on one cylinder

FJ_Russo

Petty Officer 1st Class
Im restoring a wooden run about. check out my restore thread 1960 luger matador. And I have a 1958 Johnson 35hp on the back. She starts good every time has good compression. But it's only consistently running on the top cylinder. Everyonce in a while both cylinders will fire and she goes like mad. I changed the plugs and that seemed to help a bit. But it still loses the bottom cylinder. What's the first step in some of your minds to fix this problem? All the help would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you :)

image.jpg

nahoo7

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 1958 Johnson 35hp running on one cylinder

have you cleaned and gapped your points to .020 visually check the coil for any cracks,spark plug lead in good order.you may have to go through carby.I am just learning myself and my 1960 big twin 40 started only running on top cylinder turned out I hadnt tucked the coil wire in under the coil and the drive shaft rubbed against it causing it to short out cheers.

scottmm73

Petty Officer 1st Class

Firstly, when cold do you have spark on both cylinders? Second, once warm do you lose the the spark in the bottom cylinder?

Finding spark issues is one of the most difficult problems to diagnose especially when the problem is intermittent. Once you have determined when the spark disappears the problem may be easy to diagnose.

If the problem exists when it is cold, try swapping the coils to see if the spark issue moves to the top cylinder. If the spark is now inconsistent on the top cylinder the problem more than likely is the coil. If the problem doesn't move then it may become more difficult but you have now at least narrowed it down to parts and pieces within the bottom cylinder ignition system (i.e. condenser, points, wiring).