Newbie Restoring 1980 Beachcraft 16' Bowrider

NickMcCabe

Petty Officer 2nd Class
New to boating. Picked up a 1980 Beachcraft bowrider that my brother and I are going to attempt to clean up. Hull seems to be in good shape (I'm no expert). Got the 15 hp Johnson kicker running after repairing pull starter, installing new fuel pump, plugs and cleaning carb. The 50 HP Johnson main motor is seized so I am waiting on some WD40 to hopefully do it's thing. Interior will need completely redone, steering is locked but the cable feels like it is moving up to the arm that ties to the motor itself. No idea on electrical condition. Hoping to get her running by next summer. Wondering what I could use as a replacement motor (size wise) if I can't get the 50 going. Any general tips appreciated. 996553_698064063553688_1053815029_n.jpg

pckeen

Commander
Re: Newbie Restoring 1980 Beachcraft 16' Bowrider

Welcome to iboats.

OK - basically, you can put whatever size motor that boat is rated for. I assume there is a plate on it somewhere saying max horsepower - that is your answer. If there isn't, you'll need to do some research to work out what the max hp is.

If you need to replace the motor, you can put an outboard up to the maximum hp on the back. You shouldn't go over max hp. You can put less than max hp, but don't go less than 70% of the max, as if you do, the boat will lack power . When looking for a new motor, you need to be aware of the following:
  • motors come in different shaft lengths (short (15"), long (20"), extra long (25"), and a 30"). Yours is probably a long shaft, but you'll need to check. You will want to use the same shaft length, or the boat won't run well at all;