1985 omc 800 crapped out!

Ctjheiner

Cadet
Hi everyone, I'm new to boating, never bought a boat before. So I picked up this '85 beach craft with a Chevy 305 and 800 out drive. So I found out when I got it home that the prop shaft was bent, the prop wobbled (should have checked that, but again I've never bought a boat). So, my friend said run it till it goes out. Took it out for the second time, ran good for about 2 hours then heard a bunch of clanging, banging, and a really bad vibration when in gear. So I limped it in. Spins freely by hand, really wobbles. My friends say lower unit is out.

So first of all, go ahead and let me have it for buying a boat without knowing anything about it (my wife sure hasn't let me forget it)

Second of all, what lower units will bolt up? My plan is to get it going to finish the season and rebuild mine this winter. So there's a couple boats with bad motors on Craigslist with omc's. both are '79's. will those lowers bolt up to my boat? Both have same motor as mine. Then there's a lower for sale off an '83 "hydro mechanical" shift. Is that one an option? Any help would be much appreciated.

fincastle

Cadet
Re: 1985 omc 800 crapped out!

The '79 lower units should be hydro-mech shift and would require swapping out the shift cable and everything related. The '83 unit should be full mechanical unit and would work assuming the gear ratio is the same

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Not real sure about the 800 drives but, they have 2 different sizes of lowers.The bigger motors used a larger lower.
So make sure the one you get is from a 3.0.
Not positive about that but I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.
Oh yea,Welcome.
Fill out the profile,location? You might be close to someone who can help.
The parts crossover says the 83 isin't a match?? Not sure if thats true?
The lower is still available.
0983517 GEARCASE & BRG ASSY $1, 318.92

Boomyal

Supreme Mariner