Mixing and applying poly resin

BassCat73

Petty Officer 1st Class
I've never worked with resin before, but I'm trying to coat some plywood right now. I mixed what I thought was the correct amount of resin (1 quart) and hardener (3.5 tsp). I managed to coat two panels, but all of the sudden the mixture starting setting up, I guess. It had the consistency of jello. This happened after about 10 minutes. Does this mean there was too much hardener in it? I need any tips for mixing and applying the resin to the plywood. Thanks!

BassCat73

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Mixing and applying poly resin

One more thing, I'm guessing I definitely over-mixed it. So, how much can I under-mix?? I'd like the resin to really soak into the plywood?

jimmythekid

Petty Officer 1st Class

1/4 oz hardener to 1 quart resin works the best IMHO, You can always thin it out a little (with Styrene) also to help it soak into the wood, which is what i did anyways. You really want it to soak in as much as possible. Especially with poly resin.

BassCat73

Petty Officer 1st Class

Thanks. I will have plenty left over after the first coat. How many coats should I be applying?

prockvoan

Chief Petty Officer

One other thing,when mixing resin in a cup or something in that line,the resin will cure faster due to the heat build up.One thing that helps is use a cake type pan,one you can 86 or something like that.

cc lancer

Petty Officer 1st Class

Mix the resin in the quart container with a paint stirrer for 2 minutes.<br />Then pour into a $1.50 baking tray from the grocery store. This will triple the open time.<br /><br />The resin that you applied to the panels, how long did it take for that resin to harden?

Terry H

Lieutenant Commander

Basscat, I hope you used some sort of fiberglass fabric. Poly resin is useless without it...Chief

Bondo

Staff member