Baffled by '57 Johnson CD-14

boeing707100

Cadet
Hello! I am new to iBoats.

I have a 1957 Johnson CD-14 5.5 HP that I'm trying to put back into service. It's really in pretty nice shape. I've carefully replaced the points, coils, condensers and spark plugs. I set the points using the factory timing tool and an analog multimeter. I've rebuilt the carb, replacing the worn high-speed needle. I resealed the gearcase with a new water pump impeller. I removed the cylinder head, and scrubbed off the carbon from the head and pistons. I removed the exhaust cover and scrubbed out the carbon. New gaskets for the powerhead.

Here's the problem: It runs like CRAP. I've got fresh gas with BRP TC-W3 XD-50 oil, 25:1 mix. It's hard to start, and when it finally does, it acts like it's REALLY flooded. After I run it, it has 2-cycle oil streaming down the inside of the lower unit for days - emptying onto the floor.

I thought that it might be the reed valves, but I they look okay to me. No cracks.

I like to think of myself as a meticulous mechanic. But obviously I'm not that good because I can't figure this thing out.
I'm hoping that somebody else on here will know this thing better than me and give me some guidance.

Thank you!

Daviet

Fleet Admiral
Re: Baffled by '57 Johnson CD-14

Welcome to the forum.
Did you get the float set properly?
Did you replace gasket around the nozzel tube in the float bowel?
Low speed needle set correctly?

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

To start, what is the compression?

Step 2, are you getting a bright, blue spark that will jump a 1/4" gap on a tester with a bright blue ZAP!!>?k

Might not be running on both cylinders.

Chinewalker

Fleet Admiral