Thinking about doing it myself.

dharmon

Cadet
Hello,
I recently bought this '89 Bayliner Capri. I've had it on the water this summer and it runs good and everything. There are some soft spots towards the transom. I am very new to boating, but am "handy" with tools. I was wanting to replace the floor this fall, but need help with the "how-to" part. I am also wanting to know where to get the best deals on materials to see if its worth doing it myself. I would greatly appreciate all advice. I am also new to these forums. I look forward to all of your responses. Thanks!!

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: Thinking about doing it myself.

I will move this to the correct forum area. Good luck ;)

bakerjw

Petty Officer 1st Class

I will vouch for the members of this forum. They are certainly a helpful group of people.

Read through some of the major restoration threads. Friscoboater has one of the best of his 1995 Sea Ray at
http://forums.iboats.com/completed-...gnature-deck-stringer-restoration-510077.html

Be warned though, take what you expect as the worst case scenario and be open to the possibility that it will be worse. It just happened to me with my Stratos. Every "expert" advised that the deck was good and strong. Enough fiberglass lamination on water saturated wood can feel solid even though it is on the verge of rotting completely away. And the exposed stringers and bulkheads that you can see aren't the only ones to worry about.

I know nothing about your model of boat, but if you have a soft floor, then be aware that you also might have bad stringers and bulkheads. I certainly hope that is not the case but if so, people here will offer great advice and guidance.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

Welcome to iBoats!