Advice on replacing transom wood in aluminum fishing boat

Jfoutch

Cadet
I have an old Crestliner aluminum fishing boat that I sort of inherited from my family. It was my great grandfathers and hasn't been used in years. I dug it out of storage the other day to see what would be involved in getting it back on the water. I am not experienced with fixing and working on boats but am a DIY type of person and am gonna try to replace the wood where the outboard motor is hung on the back.

The wood was severely rotted so I removed it all. There are 2 pieces. One was a 1/2 inch plywood that went on the outside and the other was a 1 inch piece of wood on the inside of the boat that I couldn't recognize it was so rotted but it looked like a hardwood of some type. I was hoping I could just use 2 pieces of 3/4 inch marine grade plywood, so I'd only have to buy one type of wood, then coat it with some type of epoxy before putting it back on the boat. I am looking for some advice on the wood and epoxy I should use or maybe a link to a guide. Thanks a lot!boat2.jpgboat1.jpg

ThrottleBack

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Advice on replacing transom wood in aluminum fishing boat

I can't offer much but since it is aluminum if you don't get marine grade just make sure you do not get treated wood, it will eat at the aluminum.

Mr. Asa

Seaman

The previous owner of my boat replaced the wood on the transom with the plastic "wood" they use for decks and such. It should effectively last forever.
I can take some pics if you want, but if you can find some I'd use that stuff.

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

I will move this to the restoration section.

Do not use any pressure treated wood since the copper reacts with aluminum.

Do not use engineered decking wood since it is not rated for the stress and is too flexible. That issue has been discussed here before.