force 125 timing/starting troubles

ncfloyd

Cadet
I have a force 125 that I replaced the stator and flywheel 2 days ago. It cranked up just fine with the old crappy battery in it that I had to jump with my truck. When I bought a new battery today I just backfires.:facepalm: What in the world could be going on? The old battery was 1000cca and the new is 800cca, could this be it? I am not a boat mechanic but know my way around all kinds of motors. This 1 has me stumped. Any clues out there??????

Ahhhhh the stupid battery the guy gave me is only 675cca. Its a little more than half the old 1. I will exchange tomorrow with the right 1 and let everyone know. ALWAYS check for yourself for the other person may not be paying attention. Lesson learned.

Last edited:

mbhoag

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: force 125 timing/starting troubles

I would also watch the videos, and print the carb & timing tutorial stickys at beginning of the Force Threads. I followed those directions a couple weeks ago on my Force 125 and absolutely runs perfect now...no backfiring, easy starting, great running...

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Your motor should turn over with a 450cca. The bigger doesn't always mean better.
There is a different problem than the battery.
Check all the connections?Clean/rebuild the starter.
Do a compression test.Low comp on 1 cylinder can cause problems.
Adjust the air screws.

Jiggz

Captain

675 CCA battery is not the problem. Although I recommend you might as well get a bigger one. Anyways, what do you mean by backfiring? Out of the carbs or the exhaust? Does it even ran and idle? If not follow mghoag lead by reviewing the synch and link and also the timing video. If problem persists post again.

ncfloyd

Cadet

I will defiantly start with cleaning carbs and timing. Thank u all for the info.