new owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

whiskeyjack

Recruit
I am new to boating and have just acquired a ski centurion tru trac ll . I'm told that it is a 1989. Where can Iget info on this boat.It says it was the official US open towboat, I assume for 1989 but am not sure.I would like to get owners manuals etc.The VIN is FINA1648H889. I would like to know what size motor it has (looks like a 351 Windsor with a Holley 4V ). I would also like to know about the charts on the dash and dual speedometers. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

jayhanig

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: new owner

You're not going to find an owner's manual. The boat industry doesn't treat boat purchases the way you're accustomed to with your car. That being said, there are universal standards for some things, such as wiring. Your best bet is to accurately identify your engine and outdrive, then obtain a service manual for them. That, you ought to be able to find.

I'm a relative newbie to boating but I started just like you and this is what I learned along the way. Other more experienced guys hopefully will weigh in.

smclear

Chief Petty Officer

It says it was the official US open towboat, I assume for 1989 but am not sure.

So were Mastercrafts, and Ski Nautiques. And possibly a couple of others. If I'm not mistaken, all that means is that it meets all the criteria required to be used in sanctioned events.

whiskeyjack

Recruit

Thanks for the input guys. As for the engine It looks like a 351W and has a 351 firing order so I guess if it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck it probably is a duck. I will try to post some pics. of the dash.The pics I have are too large to download.

agallant80

Commander