Is this normal for an Eagle dual axle trailer with disc brakes?

mikegmi2

Cadet
Eagle trailer is from 2007, and has disc brakes. While putting back on my regular rim with new tire (got a flat towning due to cracked valve stem over 4th of july weekend) I noticed after I jacked up the trailer, the wheel was hard to turn. Then I noticed the brake pad was slightly applying pressure against the rotor. It would still spin, but not freely like I would have expected when the electric brakes aren't hooked up.

It is normal (im kinda new to all this) for the trailer brakes to be slightly engaged like this while the trailer is not hoooked up to vehicle? Or will this happen if I was applying the brakes as I cut power to the truck/trailer?

I didn't check the other wheels yet but plan to do so tonight.

My worry is that if this brake pad is slightly pressing against the rotor at all times, it is causing an unnecessary load while pulling the trailer with my truck.

Thanks for your responses!

Mike

Thalasso

Commander
Re: Is this normal for an Eagle dual axle trailer with disc brakes?

Disc brakes do rub against the rotor but very lightly just as drum brakes do.They (disc) will be ever so lightly.

haulnazz15

Captain

Depends on what you mean by "slightly engaged". Disc brakes (whether on your car or on the trailer) are always in contact with the rotor. When you spin the rotor by hand, you should get at least 1-2 turns out of it before it comes to a stop, maybe 2+ if the tire is on the hub when you spin it. If the rotor stops before 1 turn, you may have a seized caliper. The trailer being plugged in should have nothing to do with it.

mikegmi2

Cadet

Ill have to jack it up again and pay more attention to how many turns I get with the wheel on the hub. I think I was getting 1 turn or so, but I expected more as I didn't realize it was normal for the brake pads to be slightly touching the rotors.