Another "help me pick my first boat" post

lootcorp

Recruit
My wife and I are dying to get out on the water.

I wish we had the cash and experience to buy something like a 28-30 foot cruiser and keep it slipped. However, after thinking about this for the last year, my goals are to get something that won't break the bank and something we can use as a learner boat. We both have a lot of experience being ON boats, but zero experience owning or operating them.

We live near Norwalk, CT, so we'd primarily be using the boat in Norwalk Harbor. I'd love to be able to take the boat along the CT coast, say, to Stamford or some of the other towns on our side of the LI Sound. It would usually be just the two of us out on the boat with our dog...we would like to bring friends on the boat, minimum of two, more the better.

I don't want to spend a lot for the first boat...I also want something relatively easy to maintain. I'm no mechanical expert but I'm willing to learn, so the gentler the learning curve the better. I don't mind doing the maintenance but don't want a project boat to start with...

We don't have a tow vehicle. Well, we have a Honda CR-V, which can't tow very much at all. There are some storage options around here - lots of marinas with slips, rack storage, etc... - if we could score a good enough deal on the boat, we might be able to afford to keep it slipped.

My wife doesn't like the look of the center console fishing boats. She wants something with at least a little style and comfortable seating. I like to fish occasionally, but not really a requirement for this first boat. I want my wife to be really happy with the boat and sell her on the lifestyle. Would probably look to upgrade the boat in 2-3 years.