Johnson 60hp setup

jneilson

Recruit
Hi, I'm new to boats, but not mechanical things. I bought an old Alumacraft 14' runabout and a '71 Johnson model 60esl71c. The boat an one time had a Merc on it that the previous owner removed. I have the Johnson on the boat now and I connected it to the old cable/pulley steering, is that ok? I installed the Johnson throttle controls and hooked up the electrical wiring. I haven't connected the throttle cable, but the throttle on the boat seems really stiff.
I can't get the starter to turnover, it has power in the battery, the electric choke is working, just nothing to the starter. When I bought the motor it was on an old boat and it started and ran fine then. What am I missing?
Thanks.

gm280

Supreme Mariner
Re: Johnson 60hp setup

Welcome to iboats :welcome: ...

When you turn the ignition key do you have voltage at the starter solenoid? That is your first priority. Also make certain you have a good ground from the battery to the engine as well... Post back with answer AND post some pictures for your project boat setup...

jneilson

Recruit

Thanks for the replies. Here are some pictures:
20130707_103240 (800x600).jpg
The wiring
20130707_103500 (800x600).jpg
The steering. It seems to work fine, but it is different from the setup on the other boat.

Also, how can I tell if the motor is in neutral? I have the throttle cable hooked up and it seems to be working fine, I just can't tell if it is in gear or not.

w2much

Lieutenant

IS that an electric shift? If so turn the flywheel with the plug wires disconnected it should be in forward(default on the electric shift). Neutral, push the neutral button on the control box and it should go to neutral. You can also cross wires ect to get that motor into neutral but that is a different can of worms.

jneilson

Recruit

I don't think it's an electric shift.
20130707_103519 (800x600).jpg
Is this the proper type of control for it?
Thanks

w2much

Lieutenant