Mercruiser MPI 4.3 sometimes cranks on first turn of the key and other times not

Natronpayne

Recruit
So, basically I am new to any kind of engine repair. I fear I need a new starter however here goes my problem.

Last year the boat was fantastic. Got the boat winterized by a dealer, and now it isn't so fantastic. The first problem we have is that the boat will crank first turn of the key without a problem, and it runs like it is brand new out of the box 2006. Other times and this is the norm I have to turn the key 5 or six times before it will turn over, then still runs great. After some listening with the cover up I notice that I hear a whirring sound for about 10 seconds then it stops and nothing happens. I turn the key again and I hear a click and no whirring. Turn the key again "click", again "click", then again "vrroooom" starts up great. I really don't want to buy a new starter but if that is the problem then that is the problem.

On to problem two. In neutral the boat decides to stall, this is new this year also. I figured that it was just a break in thing after winterizing. Seems like it is the norm now. The engine runs great otherwise, just won't start and will stall at idle which in turn makes me have to go through the starting problem again.:facepalm:

Help, Please.

Re: Mercruiser MPI 4.3 sometimes cranks on first turn of the key and other times not

Hi, and welcome :)
For problem #1 check all battery/starter connections (including ground) - make sure they are clean and tight. Also check battery voltage - should be 12.6+volts.

For problem #2 you'll have to provide more info before someone can help. What year engine? Serial # will be helpful.
Edit - just noticed :( it's a 2006?

Natronpayne

Recruit
Re: Mercruiser MPI 4.3 sometimes cranks on first turn of the key and other times not

Hi, and welcome :)