Aftermarket Bow Thruster

KnotConnected

Petty Officer 1st Class
Hey!

I've got a 1994 Larson Cabrio 280 (10' beam) with a single 7.4 Merc Bravo 3. I'm somewhat new to boating with a boat this size, but with a single engine this things impossible to dock.

What're the pro's thoughts on throwing an aftermarket bow thruster in, and does anyone have a rough idea at hours / cost?

smokeonthewater

Fleet Admiral
Re: Aftermarket Bow Thruster

it would be cheaper to sell your boat and buy one with twins.... that said.... Your boat is definitely not impossible to dock. You just need more practice... My friend with a 27' searay told me the same thing and last week we went out and docked it and maneuvered it around buoys for 5 hours straight... He now has MUCH more confidence and is QUICKLY getting better.

You need to practice where you won't hurt anything if you miss and once you figure it out you'll be golden....
When you can plan ahead figuring for wind and or current and you don't have to sit and think about it while your boat drifts out of control it will get MUCH easier for you

emilsr

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Bow thrusters are nice to have; plan on $4-$5k.

Practice is (almost) free. Single engine docking is more difficult, but not impossible.

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner

You need more practice. The fact that you have duo prop helps you a lot.

Georgesalmon

Lieutenant Commander

I've put in a bunch of bow thrusters in new boats. The tube usually goes in, in the mold. After the fact, its a big deal. You would have to tear apart the whole bow section and cut through the liner if there is one. Then prep and glass in a tube. Then cut from the out side, glass and fair and finish and add some flares to the bow so the water flows smoothly over the holes. Not to mention the heavy gauge wires to run. 4 or 5k might even be low. As said, there are millions of single engine boats out there, so practice, practice, practice.

RIDevin

Recruit